Beach Walk: Dog Edition

One day after school this week I came home and opened my front door and bumped into something.  I peered my head through the cracked doorway to see a white lump of fur by the door opening.  My dog Finn jumped up and ran around me as I placed down my backpack.  In his excitement, he repeatedly jumped up and down on the couch until he knocked over a glass on the night stand. ” Fooof!”  I tackled him and we wrestled for a little bit until I took off my socks and he picked them up and ran off.  I chased him down as I remembered he had not had any interactions with people today or a chance to go outside and play. “Want to go to the beach?”  He sprinted towards the door as his tail flailed in every direction.  I put on his leash and led him out the door.  He hopped into the backseat of my car eager to stick his head out the window.  I stared back at him to find his tongue hangout out the side of my car.  I pulled out of the driveway and headed towards Hendry’s beach.

As I mentioned in a previous blog post, Hendry’s beach is quite dog friendly.  I dragged my cousin along with me because I didn’t want to go alone.  We got to the beach and turned left to the dog part of the beach.  My dog took off along the coast and we went in pursuit.  He ran into the water and sniffed as many dogs as he could.  When we turned around the point we were pleasantly surprised to see that it was low tide and the tide pools were exposed.  We navigated through the meandering rocks while looking for starfish, urchin, and other such sea life.  My dog walked through the calm pools, disturbing their tranquility.  We turned back around and headed back for my car with our pockets full of sea glass and smiles on our faces.  We stopped by Mcdonald’s to grab a couple of Mcflurrys to satisfy our sweet tooths.  I recommend going to this beach because it is at a very unique location and there is lots to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

