img_0014

The Santa Barbara Harbor is another historical landmark of the city.  It has restaurants, boats, romantic restaurants, and its very own yacht club.  But rather than focusing on the harbor itself, I’d like to take a look at its unique surf break: Sandbar.

img_0011-1

The Bar is one of those spots that makes Santa Barbara unique.  It has a special place in my heart because of all the great sessions I’ve had and filming I’ve been able to do there.  More recently, it has become not just a break for locals but for people all across Southern California.  With a more connected world, surf spots that are secret and sacred to locals are hard to come across.  I’m kind of a hypocrite for writing about it and sharing it with you guys.

img_0019

The pictures above are from a few weekends ago at Sandbar.  The story began on Saturday night when, after getting in a solid hockey sesh at Ice in Paradise, my friends and I cruised over to the harbor and spent the night at our buddy’s boat.  We loaded up our boards, cameras, wet suits, and excitement onto the boat.  We slept on the crowded bunk beds and got surprisingly good sleep.  Awaking to the sound of massive waves crashing on the harbor barricade, we suited up quickly and groggily speed walked to the break.  The sunrise illuminated massive waves breaking on the rocks, and I knew right away that someone would get hurt.  As my friends entered the water, I scrambled to set up my tripod and get some footy.  Only about 15 surfers were out at this time but I correctly anticipated the arrival of many more.  The wind was nonexistent and the surf conditions prime.  The only problem being the water quality; a large storm hit SB a couple days before and forced the levels of pollution and bacteria to spike.  From the wise words of local Matty Pierce, “Bro I don’t care if I get sick I don’t go to school!”  One kid out of Malibu broke his board and gashed his forehead after being thrown off his board.  The sound of ambulances filled the air as a few people faced injuries.  Overall, the day was great and the waves greater, and the moral of the story is surfing does not go without risk.

Sandbar

Leave a Reply

